Northern Spartans, Amritsar win inaugural India season of Red Bull Reign

REd Bull Reign

Mumbai, 11th June 2019: Wildcard entrants Northern Spartans, led by India centre Amritpal Singh, clinched the inaugural India national title of Red Bull Reign.

Red Bull Reign is a global 3x3 tournament with regional rounds held across different countries, culminating in a final World Final.

This was the first time that Red Bull has expanded the tournament to India. After a series of 12-city legs, the winning teams from each of these legs descended onto the hallowed court at the Indian Gymkhana, Matunga to face off in the National Finals, and a chance to represent India at the Red Bull Reign World Finals to be held in Toronto, Canada later this year.

The finals was between Drop Step, Goa and Northern Spartans, both of whom got there after a gruelling sequence of seven Round 1, Round 2 and knockout games played over a span of just six hours. 

It was Northern Spartans who eventually prevailed 17-11 in the title game against a visibly exhausted Drop Step team that had barely 30 minutes prior beaten Income Tax, Ahmedabad 16-14 in the second semifinals.