Blog One

BEIRUT (Lebanon) - The stage is set for the first window of the first-ever FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers. With everything ready to go into motion, teams have begun to confirm their final 12-player rosters for gameday 1.

The first games of the Qualifiers will be played in Brisbane, Jakarta, Tehran, and Jeddah, and these cities will be ready to welcome the home town crowds that will be filling up the seats of each arena. 

Defending FIBA Asia Cup champions Australia will be in action against New Zealand on 20 February at the Nissan Arena in Brisbane. The game will be played at 6:40 PM (GMT +10).

Meanwhile, 2017 bronze medalists Korea will be facing Indonesia in Jakarta at the Mahaka Arena for their first game of the Qualifiers at 7:00 PM (GMT +7)

Three-time FIBA Asia Cup winners Iran will host Syria at their home court, Azadi Arena, in Tehran. This clash in Group E will be played at 4:00 PM (GMT +3.5) on the same day.

Saudi Arabia are hosting Qatar for the first major FIBA event ever held in Jeddah at King Abdullah Sports City, the last game on 20 February, which will start at 7:15 (GMT +3).

All teams will be looking to get off to a good start for the first window of the Qualifiers to improve their chances to make it to Asia Cup 2021. The top two teams of each group will directly qualify for the main event next year. Meanwhile, the third-placed team in each group will have to play in a separate Asia Cup Qualifying tournament to earn their spot at FIBA Asia Cup 2021.